New House DIY #1

An art table for the kids!

It pains me to have to face the reality that my kids are growing up,and have come to the place where they have outgrown their current art table.  To add salt to my wound, the art table they are currently using is the same art table that my brother and I used as small children.  I’m now faced with the task of giving my beloved childhood table back to my mom (for Druh’s kids) and trying to find a new table that is suitable for my own growing children.  As I began my search for a bigger and better table, I quickly learned that this task was going to be harder than I thought.  Most art tables are made for preschoolers!   Even the ones that adjust don’t adjust enough to accommodate my long-legged 8 year old.  So I came up with Plan B:  Find an old, small kitchen table and refinish it to make it fun for the kids!  I went to Goodwill and browsed through several yard sales with no luck.  I was starting to think that I would never find what I was looking for.  Then one day I was driving past our new house (does anyone else do that?  Just drive past so you can stare at it and dream about what it will be like when you live there?) and I noticed a yard sale sign for a house around the corner.  We drove by at a snail’s pace so I could see if it was worth getting out, and low and behold they had an old school desk!!  I jumped out and asked if it was for sale and how much?  Yes!  it was for sale for $25!  The more I thought about it, the more excited I became!  It was better than I had imagined it could be!  It was made for two kids, it had those little cubby holes for the kids supplies, and it adjusted about every inch or so all the way up the legs!!!  It was perfect!  I ran to the bank, grabbed some cash, loaded up my amazing new table, and then popped over to Walmart for a can of brightly colored spray paint!  I LOVE how it turned out and with a few amazing accessories from IKEA (my new favorite store) the kids are going to have an awesome craft area in our new house!  I can’t wait to share the finished product! 

2013-06-23 10.37.482013-06-30 10.57.19

Next up:  find amazing chairs to go with amazing table!

Leave a comment